Poison Ivy and Poison oak


We all know that God made a beautiful Earth and he made it for us to enjoy. But why did he create Mosquito’s? Or why did he have to create lions and tigers? They’re dangerous and fatal to all humans. I’ve always wanted to know: “Why did God create Poison ivy?” Did he create it to show us beauty of the environment? That would have been a good reason but not a strong one.

My friends have told me: Poison oak is the worst plant on the planet Earth. They said they’ve suffered the rash from Poison oak and have gone through the rash for 8 days. I haven’t suffered from Poison oak’s rash, but I’ve suffered from Poison ivy since I was 6 years old. When I first had Poison ivy I thought it wasn’t so bad of a rash, until my second rash came, it felt like a nightmare. I thought of never touching Poison ivy ever again. So after a few years I forgot about the pain from Poison ivy, I went to a tree and out of nowhere I fell out of the tree and fell in the Poison ivy. I thought nothing was going to happen, I was only in the Poison ivy for 45 seconds then it hit me all around. It went all around my legs, my ears and so on. I couldn’t resist the rash it was too much, but I was lucky. At least I didn’t fall in Poison oak. I don’t know how bad of a rash it would cause.

Another name for Poison ivy is “Toxicodendron radicans”. It is a plant in a family with 3 leaves Anacardiaceae. The name is sometimes spelled “Poison-ivy” in an attempt to indicate that the plant is not a true Ivy. But whenever you see three leaves on one plant, that immediately tells you (or warns you) to stay away from the plant. Because right now I still have that rash. So you don’t want to end up like me. Even though Poison ivy or Poison oak (for that matter) is dangerous, it still works with photosythesis.

Now what do I think of Poison ivy? As a rash bomb. I have a forest in my backyard and I love to climb trees and play in them. When I got older, my mom realized the forest had Poison ivy, so I was banned from going in there. I still couldn’t resist going in there. It was about 2 years since I forgot about the pain from Poison ivy. I went to the forest, got caught in Poison ivy for 2 hours, kept on climbing on trees, invited my friends in there and had a party. After 3 days the rash started coming big! All over me, in new places like my ankle, all around my back and so on. I couldn’t take it, it went on for 4 weeks. But then when I took a bath, all of the sudden it was gone. But it came right at me with a surprise. So I figured the rash is going to hit me all over in new places again and again.

When I got to one of my friends house I started having a rash in my armpit. I scratched my rash for 4 horrible hours, but then one of my friends started realizing I was scratching. So he told me “stop scratching it, it’s going to give everybody a rash!” I just ignored what he said, kept scratching until another one of my friends said “Quit doing that! You’re going to get germs around the house!” I’m like “Oh my gosh, everybody is acting up on me.” But it got worse, the owner and the owners son said “Stop or you will have to leave!” That just made me angry. I said to the owner’s son “Will you please not tattle tell on me?” He refused. Then I said “What if you were me and you wanted to scratch your pits so bad but the owner said to stop?”. The boy started thinking and said I was free to scratch my pits. So we both learned a lesson, never go in Poison ivy and never tattle tell on people.

Have you suffered Poison ivy?

Have you ever suffered Poison oak?

Do you dislike those two plants?

What do you think of Poison ivy?

What do you think about Poison oak?

35 comments on “Poison Ivy and Poison oak

  1. sasammygirl says:

    No, I haven’t ever gotten into Poison Ivy/Oak.
    I can’t say I really dislike them that saying as how I never really got the rash, but my mom did once and she was itchy for weeks because o the poison oak! :0 Ya, I just try to be careful whenever I’m in a forest, or hiking , or something. C: Nice post very informative! 🙂

    • scidrew says:

      Thank you Sammy, I’ve had a rash from Poison ivy but not Poison oak.
      This is going to sound disturbing, but I still have Poison ivy. 😦
      You are the second girl I know that neverad Poison ivy/ oak.

      • sasammygirl says:

        Oh geez…I hope you get better soon Andrew! 😦 The only reason I never got it is because I just don’t go in woods that often. xD There really isn’t a lot of ‘hiking type forest’ in our area…yeah. lol

  2. I’m the third then :D. Ive never (thought i dont know how, i am ALWAYS outside) gotyen poison ivy/oak rashes.

      • Micke says:

        I’ve never caught it, but to my knowledge I’m immune to it. Most of my family on my dad’s side is immune to poison ivy. Oak, I don’t know about, but ivy, we’re good. I know that I’ve worked in or around poison ivy for years as a landscaper. I don’t know if I’ve ever touched it, nor do I know how close you have to be to it.

        Either way I don’t think I am susceptible to the rash.

      • Andrew says:

        Immune to it? I’ve never heard of a person immune to Poison Ivy. But that’s cool. It would be un normal to be immune to both Poison Ivy and Oak. But immune o Ivy is good enough.

  3. scidrew says:

    Yeah I understand Sammy, I just have an addiction of climbing trees.
    But I learn my mistakes, also my rash is almost gone in about 3 days I will be rash free.
    Thanks for being a good friend to me. 🙂

    • sasammygirl says:

      Maybe you should wear some boots or longer pants or something when you go outside to climb the trees, that way if your legs get stuck in some of ivy it wouldn’t give you a rash. I dunno, hopefully you won’t get another ivy-related rash for while. 🙂

      • scidrew says:

        Yeah I tried that long time ago, it didn’t work, it just made it worse. But thanks for the advice! Luckily my rash is gone, I just noticed yesterday. I hope I don’t end up in another rash. I wish my forest wasn’t infected with Poison ivy. 🙂

  4. ajikinai says:

    Hm, when I first heard about it, I thought about “Batman.” hahaha What in my mind was Poison Ivy as the one of girl character in Batman Story.
    😆 Hm, I never heard about the plants, it seems they just grow in North America, and I don’t need to worry much about the plants. But, when I looked for them by searching in Google, I found that they looked like normal plants which has similar structure as other plants… So, that must be so difficult to differ this plants with others.
    (Hei, sorry..I was so busy last time so I couldn’t visit your blog)
    One question for you, why is this article placed below your new year article. You wrote this one after the new year article, didn’t you? So why??

    • scidrew says:

      Hahahaha! Ajikinai you crack me up.
      Well the reason why my Poison ivy article was at the bottom because it had no picture in it. 🙂
      You’re a funny kind of type. I just wish you could see the beauty of North America 😦

  5. What template are you running on this site ? I really like it. Could you post where you got it from ?

  6. Skydancer (Guardian Angel) says:

    I got poison oak so bad when I was in the Army that they put me in the hospital for 3 days because it was all around my neck and they thought it might cut off my breathing.

    • Andrew says:

      Wait, you’re from Willow’s blog. Nice story. You’re from the army? How old are you? Poison Ivy has never gotten to my neck, but it has gone everywhere else in the lower body.

  7. Skydancer (Guardian Angel) says:

    Yeah, I’m from Willow’s blog. I saw your post saying that apparently your Poison Ivy post was really popular so of course I had to read it. I’m 50. I was in the army a VERY long time ago! 🙂

    • Andrew says:

      Oka, because I remember seeing you comment on it. Yeah, it got almost 2,000 views in a week! I’m 11. :mrgreen:

      • Skydancer (Guardian Angel) says:

        Wow! 2,000? That’s amazing! I think it’s cool that you’re blogging at your age 🙂

        Andrew Talking: If you like this blog, why don’t you subscribe to it? Just a thought.

      • Andrew says:

        Yeah, I know. It’s a pretty good view hit for a beginner like me. Lots of people say that. 🙂

  8. Skydancer (Guardian Angel) says:

    Oh jeez! You HAD to ask me to subscribe didn’t you? 🙂 I mean, no offense or anything, but I think it’s GREAT that a kid your age is blogging but I don’t really exactly have much in common with you, do I? But lol, ok, I’ll subscribe 🙂

    • Andrew says:

      Did I say a harsh thing? I just wanted to ask people who like visiting my blog so much to subscribe. I already have 4 subscribers which is weird because you’re included but it still stays 4. Anyways, just wanted to ask. The reason I subscribed to Willow is because his posts were so juicy. I decided to be removed because my mom constantly noticed the titles and wasn’t happy about it. Get it?

      Hey, probably some of my stuff can remind you of your past. You know. I reminded you of your Poison Oak problem back in the army? 🙂

      Thanks so much for subscribing.

      • Skydancer (Guardian Angel) says:

        No, no! It’s just that kids frequently ask for people to “subscribe” to them, or “follow” them or “join” them or whatever the terminology is for whatever site you’re on, but parents tend to get suspicious when adults follow kids but I don’t have the heart to say no.

        And maybe you’re right. Maybe you’ll say a thing or too that will bring back memories of my youth. 🙂

      • Andrew says:

        Ah, makes sense. I don’t think parents need to be suspicious. Well, you’re a nice man, even though you’re 50. Lol. Right.

      • Skydancer (Guardian Angel) says:

        Thanks 🙂

        I think you’re right that parents don’t really need to be suspicious about WordPress, but I’d disagree if we’re talking about youtube. Youtube is REALLY bad! Check out my latest post (my comment to you made me think of writing it). You might find it a little uncomfortable but kids really need to know what youtube is like.

      • Andrew says:

        WordPress is an okay thing, unless you totally believe, which I do. Youtube is a little for the immature because you’re always putting down bad stuff. I don’t want a Youtube account ti’ll I am 15. Lol

      • Skydancer (Guardian Angel) says:

        That’s probably for the best. Youtube can be really nasty! 🙂

      • Andrew says:

        Yeah, you’re right. Dude, people can be nasty too. But I decide not to be nasty.

      • Skydancer (Guardian Angel) says:

        That’s cool! I decide not to be nasty too! Unless people are bullies! 🙂 Bullies deserve to be nastied upon! LOL!

      • Andrew says:

        Yeah, I know! I don’t think bullies need nastiness. Hmm???

      • Skydancer (Guardian Angel) says:

        Yeah, you’re probably right. It probably doesn’t help even to be nasty to bullies, but on the Internet, I can’t help it! 🙂

      • Andrew says:

        Yep, thank you for getting my message. Oh, I try to hold myself back. Speaking, why don’t you comment on some other posts. I would be very happy if you did that. If not, it’s okay.

  9. […] The busiest day of the year was June 7th with 556 views. The most popular post that day was Poison Ivy and Poison oak . […]

Leave a Reply

